Everlasting pickfest

IMG_6540I love Wednesdays. Know why? Well it’s not because of some silly talking camel that’s for sure! San Diego now hosts one of the largest nighttime swap meets ANYWHERE! So after work I slipped into my chucks, grabbed my messenger bag, counted out some loot and scooted off to the Q. I gave the man my money and a coupon for admission and $1 later, I started walking “the grid”. I immediately found a couple of really cool items, like this vintage tweed French of California makeup/traincase. Not all the vendors were setup yet so I ended up walking the acres TWICE. No problem…I love looking at everything twice, just to make sure I don’t miss any awesome treasures! Yeah I know…OCD! As I was making my way back on the second round I came across a lot of junk and jewelry and stufffff.

I don’t normally buy lots of jewelry but I was drawn to this shoebox of trinkets…all tangled and looking full of potential so I made an offer on the entire box! I also grabbed a couple of fabulous cast iron skillets and a few more trinkets. IMG_6539I have learned to give myself a budget whenever I go picking anywhere and I’m proud to say I actually stayed under today – I spent less than $100! BUT…there were two items that I spied today I wish I could have and would have made an offer on, oh well cest la vie. Once I start sifting thru this shoebox though, I’m certain I’ll feel pretty good about todays pickins. Speaking of shoebox……I really have to go now. I have yet to check my booty of loot to see what’s in there and it’s driving me crazy right now! So, I’ll come back tomorrow and tell you what I find, what it’s worth and where you can buy it =)

Leave a Reply

