kitchen katastrophe

December 12, 2010

Part #3 of 6

This was the first room in the house that I had to tackle…I just couldn’t bring myself to cook or EAT in there! As you can see the dining table was awash with things. It is constantly crushed with cans and boxes of dried food, among a load of other crap that nobody knows what to do with (or is simply too lazy to do anything with). It’s not uncommon for mom to go grocery shopping and buy many items that they already have stashed somewhere else. Too lazy to look or she just doesn’t care, I don’t know. So in order to make things a little easier and more accessible for both my mom and my gramma and hopefully prevent some of this stacking up on the dining table, I moved the pantry items into the house from the garage and the washroom. Gram can’t navigate the steps into the garage anyway so it made sense to do that for her.

What angered me most during the process of this part of the cleaning was how much waste there was. I dumped box after box of canned goods and several hefty trash bags of other food stuff that was no longer good or WAY out of date. I even found some canned goods hidden in some wood kitchen cabinets that were stashed in the front of the garage (way far away from the pantry area)…they were sitting on the ground by themselves which tells me they were probably a yard sale find and it was an odd place to store or hide something like food, so I’m assuming they were just put there after unloading the car and then forgotten. Either way, I felt guilt for having to toss it all. And then angry for my mom for having spent so much money on more stuff that would go unused.

It was shameful to see how much food made it to the dark side and how little was actually worth keeping.  I never did get to the freezers in the garage to clean them out … yes, two full size freezers sit in the garage pushing AC for food that is also bad and needs to be thrown out. Stocked full of old freeze burnt unrecognizable meats, breads, and stuff. When I went to visit in June I went to clean the pantry and noticed one of the doors ajar…upon closer inspection I realized there was a 2inch gap in the door, of solid ICE! No one had chipped it off to close the door in MONTHS! Mom said she knew about it and just didn’t fix it. It took me several hours to take every piece of food out and chip away all the ice that had built up on the door and the shelves that kept it from closing entirely. I was so pissed I could see red for days.

Anywho, the kitchen was another all day event and then the pantry was half a day…the dumpster was stuffed by the time they came to dump it…and probably heavier than heck too!

Aloma

Relax. Breathe. Focus.

One thought on “kitchen katastrophe

Leave a Reply

